Author Topic: Homemade Diffusion Pump  (Read 19647 times)

Geoffroy B

• View Profile
Homemade Diffusion Pump
« on: December 22, 2008, 07:56:41 PM »
In much of the amateur litterature, I have read about the possibility of building diffusion pumps from standard fittings, but there is never much details. I wanted to blow my diffusion pump in lime glass, but then feared thermal stresses, if I ever tried forced cooling. I have then decided to go with copper fittings. Now what I want to know is if there are critical values for the pump to work. I'm not talking about efficiency here, just the essential. Also, if someone know which parameters affect the ''rated'' backing pressure and the pumping speed. Thank you for your help.
Regards,
Geoffroy B.

P.S.: Sorry for any spelling mistakes, english is my second language.

RLM56

• View Profile
Re: Homemade Diffusion Pump
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2008, 04:55:03 PM »
Hi,

I'm a beginner too but I have been reading the literature and buying old books on vacuum for over 2 years now.  Right off the top of my head I remember that you can't use copper for the diffusion pump body because copper will catalyze hot oil.  You need to plate the copper with nickel.  The pump body could also be made from stainless steel or regular steel.  As far as parameters of the actual shape, size and fit of the pump body and components you would be best off to copy an existing design.  Although from what I have read it would seem that you could make a pump of this type by following a few simple rules about the angle of the chimney cones and the clearance between the walls etc.  The type of oil you choose will determine how well your home made pump works too.  The performance you might realize from a home made pump is anybody's guess.  Possibly the best solution would be to buy one of the many surplus diffusion pumps that show up regularly on EBay.  You could buy more pump for under $100 that you might ever build in a month of Sundays.  Not that I'm a